Musical Math: There Were X in the Bed

I’ve discovered another great math song in the vein of Baa Baa Black Sheep. Again, the big epiphany is that I don’t have to count down by ones. Starting at a higher number doesn’t mean I have to drone on forever if I let them fall out of bed by the dozen!

It’s like a musical version of Jenna Laib’s Skip Count Game! Though my preference for counting down by the same number fall out in each verse is generally shouted down by the peanut gallery.

There were one hundred in the bed
And the little one said,
"Roll over! Roll over!"
So they all rolled over
And ten fell out.

There were ninety in the bed
And the little one said,
"Roll over! Roll over!"
So they all rolled over
And twenty fell out.

There were seventy in the bed
And the little one said,
"Roll over! Roll over!"
So they all rolled over
And seventy fell out.

There were none in the bed
And the little one said,
"Ouch! I got hurt on pants!"

When we get tired of this one I can pull out another backwards counting song like Five Thousand Little Speckled Frogs or Ten Million Monkeys Jumping on the Bed.

Leave a comment